Experienced Counsel After Slip-And-Fall Or Trip-And-Fall Accidents
Property owners have a responsibility to keep their property reasonably safe for others visiting the premises. If a hotel guest slips in the shower, a swimmer slips on the pool deck or a restaurant patron trips on a raised carpet, the property owner may be liable for the accident if they failed to take reasonable care to prevent it.
Some injured people wrongly assume that such accidents are their own fault and do not file a claim. You have a right to expect safety on public and private property. Let an experienced premises liability attorney determine whether you have a case.
If you are injured in a fall, call Chandler Law Firm‘s skilled premises liability lawyers at 843-448-HELP (4357) to discuss your case during a free initial case consultation.
How Do Statutes Of Limitation Work?
After an accident on private property, you have three years to submit a personal injury claim in South Carolina. However, if the accident occurs on municipal or government property, the statute is much shorter, giving you only two years to bring your lawsuit. If you fail to act before the statute of limitations expires, you may forfeit your right to compensation. You need to contact a lawyer to make sure you do not miss an important deadline and forfeit your right to make a claim.
Pursuing The Compensation You Deserve
Chandler Law Firm has provided South Carolina residents and vacationers with dedicated personal injury representation since 1999. We understand the complex laws surrounding slip- or trip-and-fall accidents and can carefully advise you of your best course of action.
We will analyze your accident to identify the necessary conditions to pursue a claim. These include:
- The property owner knew (or should have known) about the dangerous condition.
- The property owner had a responsibility to provide you with a reasonably safe environment.
- Your injury directly occurred due to the property owner’s lack of care.
- Your degree of fault in the accident does not exceed the property owner’s degree of fault.
Our goal is to protect your health and financial interests so that you can focus on recovery.
Understanding South Carolina’s Comparative Fault System
South Carolina operates under a comparative negligence system. In each slip-and-fall or trip-and-fall case, the court determines your degree of fault for the accident and the property owner’s degree of fault. Your settlement can be greatly affected by the court’s comparative fault decision.
For example, if the court determines that you are 10 percent at fault for slipping on the swimming pool deck, you would receive 90 percent of the determined settlement. If they awarded a $10,000 settlement, you would receive $9,000. If your fault exceeds that of the property owner, you will not receive any compensation after the accident.
Contact Chandler Law Firm For Dedicated Representation
Not all slip-and-fall accident victims are eligible to recover compensation, but do not determine this on your own. Call Chandler Law Firm‘s Myrtle Beach office at 843-448-HELP (4357) to discuss your case during a free initial case consultation. You may also contact our firm online. We have the necessary experience to advise you on whether to pursue a claim.
We address slip-and-fall accidents on a contingency basis. You do not owe us any attorneys’ fees unless we secure compensation on your behalf.